Our society organizes itself at local levels based loosely on Medieval European hierarchies and naming conventions. Getting in touch with your local Branch is the best way to get involved. The main point of contact for newcomers is the Chatelaine or the local Seneschal. You’re also welcome to join the social media page for your local group and introduce yourself!


Baronies are large branches within and subject to the administration of the kingdom. Baronies possess a Baron and/or Baroness, ceremonial representatives appointed by the Crown, and have the ability to create and administer awards. In order to be considered a Barony, it has to meet the following requirements: has at least 25 members, a set of officers acceptable to the Crown, a name and device registered with the College of Arms, consensus among the population to become a Barony and a strong record of activities in a variety of fields (E.g. arts and sciences, youth activities, martial disciplines, etc.).

The Barony of Borealis


Baron & Baroness

Their Excellencies Aman Brennan and Sarah of Borealis


Philippe de St-Denis

The Barony of Borealis serves the population of the Edmonton metropolitan area, located within Treaty 6 Territory and within the Métis homelands and Métis Nation of Alberta Region 4.

The Barony of Montengarde


Baron & Baroness

Their Excellencies Refr Bjarnarson & Ádís Ulfsdóttir


Sir Kiera

The Barony of Montengarde serves the Calgary metropolitan area, located in the traditional territories of the Niitsitapi (Blackfoot Confederacy) and the people of the Treaty 7 region in Southern Alberta. The City of Calgary is also home to Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3.

The Barony of Myrgan Wood


Baron & Baroness

Their Excellencies Alexios Mavros & Amya Mavros


Duchess Svava Suanhuita

The Barony of Myrgan Wood serves the populaton of Saskatoon and area, located on Treaty 6 Territory and the Homeland of the Métis.

Shires & Incipient Shires

Local groups in Avacal start off as Incipient Shires (denoted with an asterisk*) meaning they have been sponsored by a Barony to eventually become a fully fledged Shire. Generally, Shires will have a minimum of 5 members, at least 3 Officers, a name registered with the College of Arms and consensus among the population to establish a local Branch.


Cranbrook and Kimberly, BC and area

SeneschalMedb Polestripper

Bitter End

Red Deer, AB and area

(currently in abeyance)


Cold Lake, AB and area

SeneschalVolchok Vikingsson


Fort Saint John and Dawson’s Creek, BC and area

SeneschalAurora of the Feast


Regina, SK and area


Valley Wold

Moose Jaw, SK and area

SeneschalRadu cel Rau


Grande Prairie, AB and area

SeneschalAdamar di Donadei di Pietro


Lethbridge, AB and area

SeneschalFreydis Birthesdotter